STOP PRESS! My partner is not so gentle after all!

 

Readers who had a read of my post yesterday about my dog Shera, and how docile and gentle he is, need to read this today!

This morning, whilst walking in a local park off leash, we saw a lady with a terrier also walking her dog. No problem I thought, as I’d seen that woman several times before and the most that happens is that Shera goes up to the dog, sniffs around as dogs do, and walks back to me.

Well what happened today was exactly what I describe above…Shera went over to sniff around and then walked away. Normally, we do about 3 rounds of the park before going back home, as Shera is a big guy and needs to run around quite a lot.

Anyways, we went round the 2nd time and of course met up with the same woman again. She as well as I just ignored the dogs, knowing that they knew each other well enough now, when suddenly, I looked back to find Shera snarling and standing over the little terrier, who was in the submissive position on his back.

But my dog wouldn’t stop, the woman’s screaming not helping ease the tension at all. I immediately rushed over to them, shouting and trying to get a hold of my dog, but without success. The other dog managed to get up and ran away, but Shera again downed him, and again I tried unsuccessfully to stop the fight.

The little dog got up again and ran across a busy road, with Shera chasing him, despite my calls and shouts to him to stop. I spotted my dog some 100 yards away walking back to the park, the other dog nowhere in sight.

I of course apologised profusely to the lady and told her where I had seen her dog and she walked after it, muttering abuse at me. I just hope her dog was not injured in the fight, as from a distance it looked quite vicious…there was no sign of any blood on my dog, so I can only assume it was more bark than bite thankfully.

With Shera back on the leash, I scolded him as seriously as I could, and to tell the truth, felt like giving him a few good thumps as well, but managed to control my anger at him. He took it like a guilty criminal, standing there next to me, whilst other walkers gave us a dirty look and made me feel like an idiot!

So, punch line is this…..no matter how gentle or docile you think and animal is, never, ever place full trust in them….they can turn any time. From now on, Shera will be on leash if there are dogs around whom we do not know well.

What a day!

 

