What are we searching for?

This is blog about walking in the wilderness…

But you may be thinking why I keep posting stuff about metaphysical, mystical or religious stuff on here? I agree with you!

But I am so moved with the whole subject of our thoughts, belief, faith, life, death etc., that I have thought it better to use this space for both purposes, one to talk about what keeps us happy physically, ie enjoying the outdoors, and second to discuss things which do seem to bug a whole lot of people out there…why we are here, what we need to do whilst we are alive, etc.

Recently, I’ve been reading a couple of blogs written by one or two readers who seem to be pushing the views that what they believe in is the only way to salvation for the world. That is really, really bad. How can we stand up with a straight face and say to everyone with such compulsion, that there is only one way.

In that vein, I am posting a few words from Jalaluddin Rumi, whom many people have read about. I think you will agree that his words strike a chord, no matter how remote:

I tried to find Him on the Christian cross, but He was not there; I went to the Temple of the Hindus and to the old pagoda, but I could not find a trace of Him anywhere.

I searched the mountains and the valleys but neither in the heights nor in the depths was I able to find Him. I went to the Kaaba in Mecca, but He was not there either.

I questioned the scholars and philosophers, but He was beyond their understanding.

I then looked into my heart and it was there where He dwelled that I saw him; He was nowhere else to be found.

