Capturing the Moon.

hehe! you need to have a tripod at least if youre gonna take shots at night…no way are you gonna be able to hold a camera still enough for a sharp photo…

happyandsimple

While walking mister dog tonight, the moon stopped me in my tracks. It was big and bright and eerily framed with clouds. It made me yearn for many nights in the past spent listening to wolves howling. After we got back home, I grabbed my camera and headed back outside. I am seriously terrible at taking photos in low light – I’ve only recently started trying to figure out a few manual settings (beyond twirling the shutter speed). So, after taking my first moon shot tonight (the one below), I wondered how to take a photo that captures something beyond a bright blob in the sky. So, I searched the web to find out what settings I should use and went back out with a tripod. The photo above is the result.  My lens only zooms to 250mm, so I did a little cropping, but now I know how to…

View original post 17 more words

