Best camping stove around!

You know, when was the last time you remember that you set up your camp, hauled up that tent after what seemed an eternity, got everything sorted out finally, and then….the heavens opened up!

No problem, you say….I’ll get my stove going and cook up something hot to burn away the raindrop blues. You get the stove out, set it up, light it and….phut, phut, phut! You see a flame and get the pots ready…meantime, the damn thing goes out, and try as you may, you can’t get it going again.

I can see you smiling and nodding your head! It’s happened to all of us at some time or other.

So it was wonderful when I finally trashed my old stove for something really solid, reliable and wonderfully engineered.

 

It’s a WhisperLite International stove and cost me just under C$100, which is not a lot to pay for the service it gives…take it from me, it’s been everywhere with me and hasn’t failed yet.

It’s been to Snowdonia in the UK when I did a trip there, on a trek out of Katmandu in India and of course all over the many trips I do in British Columbia.

Takes just seconds to set up, vitally important when your standing in rain that seems someone up there in the heavens is really determined to soak you thru and thru with his bucket loads of water!

Water for your tea, coffee, soup or what-have-you boils very quickly indeed, and if one the very odd occasion it needs a clean up, which you should be doing regularly anyway, it’s done very simply and swiftly.

Not only that, if you find you’ve can’t get your hands on gas, it’s designed to use several different fuels….in India, it ran perfectly happily on kerosine (paraffin).

All in all, a stove that I haven’t been able to fault. I got mine at my favourite camping shop in Vancouver, MEC.

😉

