A Poor Reflection

I am privileged to live amidst the beauty of the Blue Ridge Mountains. All around me are the sweeping hills whose peaks break the horizon and reach to the sky. Hiking among these mountains is one of my favorite pastimes. Traveling quietly through the trees, I sometimes imagine myself with a bow in hand, listening and living off the land. Surrounded in seclusion and mystery, the mountains remember a simpler life and the imagination runs wild. Sometimes we forget, it is the mountains and the valleys that shape the world.

After our recent snowfall, I decided to make the eight mile journey known as the McAfee’s Knob trail. McAfee’s Knob is said to be the most photographed portion of the Appalachian Trail in Virginia. After four miles of strenuous effort, the jutted knob at its peak offers a breathtaking reward. But don’t take my word for it. They say a…

View original post 189 more words

