backcountry with the kids

It’s funny how time can affect how you remember events. The more harrowing the event, the more time and distance it takes to be able to look back with fondness.

I remember clearly that when we finished Pukaskwa’s Coastal Hiking Trail, I looked over at Fraser and announced that it turns out I wasn’t a “hiker” in my heart and that my future attentions would focus on paddling. HA! It took one big breakfast of bacon and eggs and the reviewing of some of my pictures in the car on the way home to change my mind.

I knew that our little family would attempt a big hike again…and soon.Pukaskwa 2012 283

Today Fraser texted me that he had booked our next hike. It is certain now that I need to start gathering the necessary gear for our family of four to tackle Killarney Provincial Park’s LaCloche Silhouette Trail. We are…

View original post 303 more words

