mollybisme

So I went on my first excursion into the hills behind my house this morning. Thoreau has this idea that you can walk for 30 minutes from your front door and have a nature experience. Granted, I’m not walking into the great unknown- I follow trails the entire time- but I decided to time myself and see where I get in 30 minutes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is where I get in 30 minutes.

There’s this tree/bush next to the trail and it’s so obviously trimmed to the needs of the trail-users that it’s comical. Having worked with maintaining trails, this is just bad practice in general. Generally, if there is a tree that close to the trail, you cut it down for a few different reasons: 1) it’s easier to maintain because you don’t have to return every season to trim it, 2) it keeps trail-users from diverging from the trail to…

View original post 241 more words

