These plants will save your life…..

Isn’t it sad to see that we as mankind are bent on destroying what Nature, god, The Force or whatever you wanna call it, has bestowed upon us, in order to make our stay here as easy as possible.

By this, I mean the relentless march of progress…progress to what?

By it’s very nature, we are forcing Nature within parcels of land, boxes, places in which and within which it was never ever designed to be.

And besides that, what of the poor animals? We have carved up their migration routes that have existed for millenia, so much that they have been forced to re-organize themselves in order to survive. Alas, some have failed, and have disappeared from sight.

If only we could all reason that we are all one, the animals, the wilderness, the trees, the plants…all one. Only then can we all survive.

Anyway, I digress. My main reason for posting this is to bring some rare knowledge of plants that I picked up from my time in the bush.

It was given to me by an old man in the Nunavut areas. I will only list 5 of them today, as any more and it will be just information overload for many readers!

1 DWARF FIREWEED          PAUNNAIT        tea, medicine and food

2 CROWBERRY                      PAURNGAIT      food

3 ARCTIC WILLOW           UQPI SUPUTILLU    medicine, tea, food, bedding

4 MOUNTAIN SORREL       QUNGULIIT       medicine, food

5 ARCTIC COTTON               PUALUNNGUAT  lamp wick, insulation, cleaner

I well remember what that guy told me about plants. He said that if we love them, even talk to them, they will flourish…just like us. At that moment I laughed, thinking about what people think about Prince Charles of England, when it was announced that he regularly talks to his plants….they think he’s a weirdo!

Never mind, let the world think what they like, I mean, we hikers are sometimes classified as weirdos too, right?

I will expand on these plants in my next post, how and where to find them and how to use them.

See you quite soon!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “These plants will save your life…..

  1. The weirdest people are the most interesting! I normally will talk to my dogs while I hike or walk- I’m sure people think I’m a crazy dog lady rambling on to them!

Comments are closed.