The Burned Hand

An interesting thing about trying to sleep in secluded cabins is that ofttimes you don’t really get much sleep.  Oh we tried.  We really did.  We went to bed on the pull-out couch by the crackling fire.  The kids were in the other rooms snuggling and telling stories with their grandparents, so we took the couch.  I had on as many layers as was possible, ahem, which is unlike me, but it was really cold there.  I could still hear my father going on about the Wizard of Oz, which I will go into more later.  I was trying to settle in and avoid the springs in the bed which made me feel kind of like the Princess and the Pea.  No matter what direction I tossed and turned, there was a spring.  As I turned on my side once again, I heard a noise.  It was the…

View original post 315 more words

