Lori Harris Photography

While hiking low tide on the Cape Fear River, I happened upon a washed up and buried bottle. It’s embossed lettering caught my eye.

20130226-231050.jpg

I knelt down and dug up the bottle to discover its true uniqueness – a rounded bottom.

20130226-231224.jpg

Decided to keep my unique treasure. Returning home curiosity got the best of me and I began to research the bottle.

Ross’s Belfast “Hamilton,” “Bomb” or “Torpedo” bottle. Patent held by William F. Hamilton. They were made between 1809-1910 in England. Used for ginger ale and soda waters. The rounded bottom ensured the liquid stayed in contact with the wired cork so as not to evaporate or loose carbonation.

I have my own little piece of history. Blessed!

Source: Parrsborough Shore Historical Society

View original post

