Hiking Virginia

Oops. I forgot that I have a hiking blog. I’ve done some nice walks in my months of absence, but not too many overnights. However, I’m planning another West Virginia backpack next week and that reminded me that I never wrote about the lovely hike that I took on Virginia’s Wild Oak NRT last August. I even typed up some notes at the time (thanks goodness, otherwise my memory would be way too hazy).

The Wild Oak National Recreation Trail is a 26 mile loop in George

Washington National Forest. In fact, I had actually walked on it before – part of the trail bumps into Ramsey’s Draft Wilderness, which I’ve visited several times and written about previously. We decided to take advantage of the proximity of Ramsey’s Draft by adding about 6-mile side trip into the area, for about a 32 miles trip over all.

IMG_1931Day one – We…

View original post 552 more words

