HilaryPNW

Forget-me-nots revert me back to childhood.  They tugged at my early-gardener heartstrings – and still do today. It’s difficult not to love these perky, tiny flowers with a sweet, pleading name. Every year in early spring, hundreds of the tiny blossoms circle my backyard and start the season-long parade of Pacific Northwest color.

This year, I was able to convince my good-hearted boyfriend to model a few for me. What better way to make the first weekend of spring?

Forget-me-nots are a best grown in a large group. An annual, they’ll easily reseed an area for flowers the following year. Often referred to as a biennial bloomer, it seems a cycle of replanting seeds in the garden every other year results in the best showing. While they do begin blooming early in the spring, they’ll continue to grow more flowers into the summer and make excellent bulb covers.

To prolong my…

View original post 57 more words

