Yosemite Wild?

Ruskin K. Hartley

One of the first national parks I visited shortly after moving to the Bay Area was Yosemite. Five of us crammed into a hard-sided cabin and enjoyed the park in winter. Since then I have been back many times: sleeping variously in the Ahwanee, Camp Curry, the Yosemite Lodge, Wawona Hotel, various campgrounds and most memorably on a granite slab under the stars on the banks of the Tulumne River high in the meadows. I’ve hiked and biked and skated and skied and snowshoed and played in the river.  I’ve visited in late summer when the falls are a dusty trickle, in spring when they blast you with spray a mile away, in autumn when the leaves turn golden, and in the winter when the sequoia are blanketed with thick snow. I love this park: its truly magical.

Since Yosemite became California’s first state park in 1864 it has also been…

View original post 460 more words

