The single most precious item in my backpack!

Hardened hikers and outdoor people will agree with me when I say that one of the most important things that can save your life, and bring you instant comfort and feeling of safety, is a fire.

Whether you light that fire with a fire lighting kit, an old cigarette lighter, rolled up tissues or whatever, once it gets going, you somehow feel so good.

I carry a proper fire lighting kit with me at all times when I’m hiking, but it’s always a good thing to err on the side of safety, and have a standby method as well.

UCO Stormproof Match Kit

For that, I carry storm-proof matches. The pack has 25 matches in a totally waterproof container. There is a striking surface on the outside of the container, but just in case that gets damaged, there are 2 more surfaces inside as well….forward thinking!

The matches are very long-lasting, burning for around 10 to 15 secs and here’s the thing…they will relight after COMPLETE dunking in water!

See them here

 

