Forget the afterlife..make a difference here!

A contentious subject….what happens to us after we die, both in the physical and metaphysical sense.

I bring up this point as a person who has made a choice, a personal choice, to take part in an activity that could lead to the loss of my life. Yes, I know…it sounds terrible, doesn’t it? But it’s a fact.

Every year, there must be thousands of people all over the world who die due to taking part in just such hobbies as mine, namely hiking, climbing, etc.

That is a risk we have to take, albeit a calculated risk. Even crossing the road from one sidewalk to the other could quite easily result in death, so does that mean we don’t venture out of our houses? No, of course it doesn’t.

But what is really shocking is that well over 50% of the population still do not bother to become organ donors, if the worst case scenario were to happen.

Some say it is an insult to the dignity of the dead person if his/her organs are removed. Some say their religion does not allow it. Some just don’t know what it is, but they will not allow it.

Let’s take the religion thing first. There is not a shred of evidence anywhere, correct me if I am wrong, that removing organs from a dead person is taboo. Aside of the religious pundits, who BELIEVE there is a life after death, and that somehow leaving this life with a full set of organs is  somehow a prerequisite of gaining a foothold in the afterlife, nobody has ever proven, beyond a shadow of a doubt, that there is afterlife. In my opinion, and I do hope I’m not upsetting anyone with my conjectures, these beliefs belong to the days of the Pharaohs and maybe even earlier. We are in the 21st century now and need to change with the times….a tree that doesn’t bend in the wind will break and die……

So why not donate your organs?

On the other hand, logically, if a person donates their organs after death, then he/she will give life, after death, to someone else. Isn’t that life after death? I believe it is.

And a friend of mine who is a physician, once told me that a total of NINE people can be given new lives, from the organs of just one donor.

Let’s think about that awhile…then make your decision.

 

:0

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Forget the afterlife..make a difference here!

  1. I see no valid rhyme or reason for not donating. I have heard the following two crackers that are just pathetic –
    “What if I don’t like the person who gets my organs?”
    “I want to choose what type of people get my organs?”

    Sad indictment of people’s mentality.

    Take everything that can be used, because I am no longer in need of them. Give life where mine is gone.

Comments are closed.